Department of Anesthesiology
Last Updated: January 28, 2020

The Emory Department of Anesthesiology, led by Andrew J. Patterson MD, PhD, includes more than 150 faculty members. In addition to providing comprehensive anesthesia care, they are involved in conducting basic, clinical, and transitional research in areas such as critical care, obstetric anesthesia, cardiac surgery, and pain medicine, generating $ 1.7 million in extramural research funding, which has been steadily increasing over the past 3 years. The Anesthesiology department has a dedicated Emory Research Hemostasis and Coagulation Core laboratory (ERHCCL) under the direction of Vice Chair for Research, Roman Sniecinski, MD, MSc, which is fully equipped to measure various coagulation proteins, thrombin generation and viscoelastic properties of clotting blood. The department also has a dedicated staff of research nurses and coordinators to help with conducting clinical trials in partnership with government agencies, industry, and other academic partners.

Download As Word